Meon Valley has disappeared

Mayville High School, Portsmouth Advertisement
Mayville High School, Portsmouth Advertisement
Mayville High School, Portsmouth Advertisement
Meon Valley disappears

Meon Valley has disappeared. Gone. Vanished. Finito.

But don’t panic – it’s only an electoral technicality.

Parliament was formally dissolved last night ahead of the General Election on July 4th and, with that, the constituency of Meon Valley has gone.

The boundaries of parliamentary constituencies are regularly redrawn by the Boundaries Commission for England to ensure that they roughly contain the same number of voters.

Much of the old Meon Valley now forms part of the Winchester constituency with 76,577 voters but Wickham and Denmead are now in the new Fareham and Waterlooville constituency, which has 77,036 voters and the residents of Botley and Whiteley and Shedfield become part of the 76,902 voters in the new Hamble Valley constituency.

Former Meon Valley MP Flick Drummond attempted to become the Conservative candidate for Fareham and Waterlooville but was beaten by former Home Secretary and Fareham MP Suella Braverman. Ms Drummond is now standing as her party’s candidate for Winchester, where the previous incumbent, Conservative Steve Brine is not seeking re-election. She will face a strong challenge from Lib Dem candidate Danny Chambers. The Meon Valley Times will be publishing a full list of candidates in due course.

Here are more details of the new constituents and their component parts.


WardLocal AuthoritiesElectorate
Alresford & Itchen ValleyWinchester6,884
Badger Farm & Oliver’s BatteryWinchester6,354
Bishop’s WalthamWinchester6,240
Central Meon ValleyWinchester7,594
Colden Common & TwyfordWinchester4,371
St. BarnabasWinchester6,602
St. BartholomewWinchester6,311
St. LukeWinchester3,970
St. MichaelWinchester6,381
St. PaulWinchester6,692
The WorthysWinchester4,791
Upper Meon ValleyWinchester4,509
Wonston & MicheldeverWinchester5,878

Fareham and Waterlooville

WardLocal AuthoritiesElectorate
Fareham EastFareham5,930
Fareham NorthFareham5,621
Fareham North-WestFareham5,548
Fareham SouthFareham5,505
Fareham WestFareham5,403
Portchester EastFareham8,883
Portchester WestFareham5,608
Hart PlainHavant7,657
Southwick & WickhamWinchester4,790

Hamble Valley

WardLocal AuthoritiesElectorate
Bursledon & Hound NorthEastleigh6,908
Hamble & NetleyEastleigh7,970
Hedge End NorthEastleigh7,501
Hedge End SouthEastleigh8,790
Locks HeathFareham5,648
Park GateFareham7,137
Titchfield CommonFareham6,052
Whiteley & ShedfieldWinchester4,634
Winchester constituency 2024
Winchester constituency 2024
Mayville High School, Portsmouth Advertisement
Mayville High School, Portsmouth Advertisement
Mayville High School, Portsmouth Advertisement